Time to nominate titles for the 2019 ORCA

We would love your suggestions for titles you think would make great 2019 nominees! Click on the tab on this menu bar and nominate your favorite books that were published in 2016!

Posted in Oregon Reader's Choice Awards | Leave a comment

The winners of the 2017 ORCA and nominees for the 2018 ORCA have been announced!

The 2017 Oregon Reader’s Choice Awards winners were announced at the Oregon Library Association/Oregon Association of School Libraries conference in Salem. The winners are:

Upper Elementary: El Deafo by Cece Bell




Middle School: The Crossover by Kwame Alexander




High School: I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson




Nominees for the 2018 ORCA were also announced. They are:

Upper Elementary Division (grades 3-5):

Circus Mirandus by Cassie Beasley
Fish in a Tree by Lynda Mullaly Hunt
George by Alex Gino
My Near Death Adventures (99% True!) by Alison DeCamp
Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson
Stella by Starlight by Sharon Draper
The Terrible Two by Mac Barnett and Jory John
Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer by Kelly Jones

Middle School Division (grades 6-8):

The Boys Who Challenged Hitler by Phillip Hoose
Full Cicada Moon by Marilyn Hilton
Listen, Slowly by Thanhha Lai
Lost in the Sun by Lisa Graff
Lumberjanes, Vol. 1 by Noelle Stevenson
The Nest by Kenneth Oppel
Orbiting Jupiter by Gary D. Schmidt
The War that Saved My Life by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley

High School Division (grades 9-12):

All American Boys by Jason Reynolds and Brendan Kiely
Dumplin’ by Julie Murphy
Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon
The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough
More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore
The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Posted in Oregon Reader's Choice Awards | Leave a comment

Thanks to everyone who voted for the 2017 ORCA!

Voting has now closed. Winners of the 2017 ORCA and nominees for the 2018 ORCA will be announced on April 22 at the Oregon Library Association/Oregon Association of School Libraries conference in Salem. This blog will be updated shortly thereafter.

Posted in Oregon Reader's Choice Awards | Leave a comment

It’s time for Oregon kids and teens to vote for the 2017 ORCA!

It’s time to vote for the 2017 Oregon Reader’s Choice Award!  Students in elementary, middle or high school who have read two or more books in any of the three divisions, may vote for their favorite in that division.  Votes can be submitted by teachers or librarians using the form below. Please have them submitted by the end of the day on April 1st.   Bookmarks can be found under the Resources tab on the blog’s navigation bar and used as paper ballots at your school or library if that is useful. Please tally your school or library’s results and report them using the below form. Winners will be announced at OLA in April along with next year’s nominees. Voting is open through March 31. Questions, comments, etc. can be sent to orca@olaweb.org. Thank you for participating and promoting ORCA to your students!

Posted in Oregon Reader's Choice Awards | Leave a comment

2016-2017 Orca Nominees

Upper Elementary Division (Grades 3-5)

El Deafo by Cece Bell
The Madman of Piney Woods by Christopher Paul Curtis
Under the Egg by Laura Marx Fitzgerald
By the Grace of Todd by Louise Galveston
Operation Bunny by Sally Gardner
Gabriel Finley and the Raven’s Riddle by George Hagen
A Snicker of Magic by Natalie Lloyd
Hook’s Revenge by Heidi Schulz

Middle School Division (Grades 6-8)

The Crossover by Kwame Alexander
The Night Gardener by Jonathan Auxier
The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm
The Great Greene Heist by Varian Johnson
Egg and Spoon by Gregory Maguire
Greenglass House by Kate Milford
The Boundless by Kenneth Oppel
Brown Girl Dreaming by Jacqueline Woodson

High School Division (Grades 9-12)

Through the Woods by Emily Carroll
Girls Like Us by Gail Giles
The Story of Owen: Dragon Slayer of Trondheim by E.K. Johnston
We Were Liars by E. Lockhart
How It Went Down by Kekla Magoon
I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson
Gabi, a Girl in Pieces by Isabel Quintero
Jackaby by William Ritter


Posted in Oregon Reader's Choice Awards | Leave a comment

The 2016 Oregon Reader’s Choice Awards have been announced, and the winners are…..

Upper Elementary (Grades 3 -5)

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein


Middle Division (Grades 6 – 8)

Counting by 7’s by Holly Goldberg Sloan

counting 7s

High School Division (Grades 9 – 12)

The Living by Matt de la Pena


Posted in Oregon Reader's Choice Awards | Leave a comment

The Voters

Here is the final, final list of schools and libraries from around Oregon who voted for this year’s ORCA winners.  To all the teachers, librarians and others who made it possible for their students to participate and vote: THANK YOU!!!  We really couldn’t do it without you.

Athey Creek Middle School Metropolitan Learning Center
Beavercreek Elementary Mid Valley Elementary
Beaverton City Library Middleton Elementary School
Bellview Elementary School Mountain View Middle School
Beverly Cleary School Naas Elementary School
Bolton Primary Newberg Public Library
Boones Ferry Primary Newport Middle School
Boring Middle School Newport Public Library
Bridlemile North Bay Elementary
Byrom Elementary North Bend High School
Chapman ES North Bend Middle School
Clear Lake Elementary Portland Jewish Academy
Edgewood Community Elementary School Pringle Elementary
Edy Ridge Elementary Rainier Junior Senior High School
Elgin Public Library Rosemont Ridge Middle School
Eugene Public Library Rural Dell Elementary
Farmington View Elementary School Salem Public Library
Firwood Elementary School Sam Case Upper Elementary
Forest Grove City Library Sandy High School
Happy Valley Elementary School Sellwood Middle School
Happy Valley Library Spencer Butte MIddle School
Highland Elementary School St. John Fisher School
Holcomb Elementary St. Pius X School
Hopkins Elementary Stafford Primary
Howard Elementary Terra Linda Elementary
Imlay Elementary School Tigard Public Library
Lake Oswego Library Tri-City Elementary
Laurel Ridge Middle School Warrenton Grade School
Ledding Library West Sylvan Middle School
Lewis Elementary

Mabel Rush Elementary School

Willamette Primary and Trillium Creek Primary
Marshfield High School Wood Middle School
Posted in Oregon Reader's Choice Awards | Leave a comment